How to be a #GirlBoss at work

Post-grad life can be hard to transition into. That’s why I recommend that if you’re still in college, you get as many internships as possible to get more experience and familiarize with the area you will be working in after you graduate.

Being an intern at multiple companies, truly helped me prepare for my post-grad transition in order to do well at work. Here are some of the things I’ve learned about excelling in a professional setting after working for almost a year.

  • Take your job seriously 😎
    • You were hired for a reason and in order to exceed expectations at work, you need to take your job very seriously, it doesn’t matter if you were hired as an assistant or manager. Don’t be afraid to go the extra mile, it will lead you to perform well and deliver great results, which is why your were hired in the first place.

andrew-neel-218073.jpg

  • Arrive early ⌚️
    • Whereas some places don’t really emphasize the importance of arriving to work early, I’ve learned it is the best thing you can do if you want to get results faster and if you want to clock out early. Getting to the office before everyone else has helped me focus on my goals for the day and organize myself better, which often leads to better results and more productivity. Also, I like clocking out right on time, and if I get to work 15 to 20 minutes early, I have the perfect excuse to do so.

brigitte-tohm-388996.jpg

  • Dress accordingly 👸🏻
    • The more you dress for work, the better you will feel. This is for real. If you wake up early enough to put some sort of effort on the way you look, this will boost your self-confidence and make you want to do a better job at work. Try wearing some comfortable high heels or doing your hair and makeup, and you will notice the difference.

pete-bellis-189599-e1507069122365.jpg

  • Eat breakfast 🍳
    • I’ve never been a breakfast eater… until now. I usually meal prep my breakfasts for the week so I can get those extra 10 minutes of sleep and eat my oatmeal on the go or while I get ready. It saves so much time and also gives me the energy boost to get through the morning.

megan-savoie-232969.jpg

  • Go to bed early 🕘
    • I swear we’ve been told this over and over again and I never actually listened until I started working full time. Call me a grandma or whatever, but nothing beats getting 8+ hours of sleep on a weekday. All my life, I used to go to bed after midnight and getting up was hard as hell, which made me feel tired and drained all day. Now, the latest I go to bed is 10:30 and I thank the heavens for the opportunity of getting plenty of sleep, not to mention it comes in handy when you need extra boost to go out on the weekends.

logan-nolin-347104

  • Identify your booster drink ☕️
    • Unfortunately, getting enough sleep and dressing up isn’t always enough to make you kick ass at work. Sometimes we all need some extra help, which is when caffeine comes in handy. If you’re not fond of coffee, you could try the million flavors of tea available at the supermarket or give fruit and almonds a shot. Whereas energy boosters are great for those days when you’re not feeling to the max, I wouldn’t recommend making them a daily thing.

brooke-lark-230509-e1507070730751.jpg

  • Reward yourself after a long day of work ✨
    • Pampering yourself after a long day of work allows you to stay motivated and look forward to the next day. I usually try to reward myself with a different thing every day of the week, for example: on Mondays, I like to watch Netflix or #KUWTK wrapped up in my favorite blanket; on Tuesdays, I usually go to the nearest taco place and treat myself to some yummy Mexican food; on Wednesdays, my friends and I go to Buffalo Wild Wings to get some boneless for $5 and so on. Rewarding yourself is key in order to ensure a great performance at work the next day, so don’t forget to do it!

mc-jefferson-agloro-186548-e1507070113670.jpg

What are some of the things that you like to do in order to stay motivated and excel at work? I would love to read your comments. Don’t forget to like and share 💫✨

All photos from Unsplash.

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 12.40.15 AM

2 thoughts on “How to be a #GirlBoss at work

What are you waiting for? Say something about this!