Get Better Sleep at Night

Most people in the world can get three hours of sleep and still kick ass during the day. People like me, can get 10 straight hours of sleep and still feel tired for the rest of the day.

All my life I’ve been a heavy sleeper. I’ve come to realize it’s probably in my genes because no matter how early I go to bed, I still want to get those extra five (or twenty) minutes of sleep in the morning. Trust me, I’ve tried it all and nothing has worked, except maybe getting better sleep at night.

My struggle with being a sleepy girl doesn’t end there. I’ve missed important tests, meetings AND work because of sleep. My love for bed, blankets and a nice, puffy pillow is unconditional, but it can eventually grow into a serious problem. Enough said, over the last few months I’ve realized getting better sleep at night is probably the best thing sleepy girls can do to avoid feeling tired in the morning, but how do we get better sleep to begin with?

Just so you know, I’m not the kind of girl who wakes up at 5 in the morning to go running, makes an avocado omelette for breakfast every day and takes a bubble bath before going to work. I’ve always wanted to be that way, but truth is, I’m not and that’s not going to change because I love sleeping way too much.

Thus said, I’m putting together a small list of things that have helped me sleep better at night, in order to make it slightly easier for me to wake up in the mornings. It’s still a struggle, but it definitely helps.

First of all, I’d recommend going to bed before 10:30 PM because that way you can get at least eight hours of wonderful and amazing sleep in your comfy bed. If you love sleeping, try reversing your inner clock by going to bed earlier, so you can sleep more. It’s a no brainer.

vladislav-muslakov-261627

My second recommendation is that if you usually shower in the mornings, you can start showering at night so you can get those extra 15 or 20 minutes of sleep when your alarm goes off. Trust me, it’s worth it and you won’t have to worry about drying your hair or shaving on a rush.

Before you go to bed, try visualizing what you’re going to wear the next day so you don’t waste time in the mornings thinking about your #ootd. This saves you approximately 15 to 20 minutes of sleep.

haley-phelps-62815.jpg

Clean bedding = better rest. It is scientifically proved that people get better sleep at night when they sleep in clean sheets. Professionals recommend washing your bedding once a week for better results.

elizabeth-lies-6702.jpg

Don’t forget to turn the AC on at night and invest on some soft, good-quality blankets. I like the AC below 65, ALWAYS. Just make sure to grab a thick, warm blanket and you’re good to go for the rest of the night.

To make your whole sleeping experience even better, don’t forget to light your candles  (if you have any) and relax. My favorite scent is clean cotton and birthday cake. What is yours?

logan-nolin-347104-2

These are some of the things I like to do to get better sleep at night. Honestly, I still want to hit snooze every morning, but sleeping better makes waking up easier! Hope my list helps all the sleepy girls out there 😴 What are some of the things you like to do in order to sleep better at night?

Screen Shot 2017-07-10 at 12.40.15 AM

 

GuardarGuardarGuardarGuardarGuardarGuardarGuardarGuardar

2 thoughts on “Get Better Sleep at Night

  1. I try to wash my bedding twice a month and I throw in downy unstoppables which adds scent, the lavender scent is my favorite and helps me sleep alot better

  2. Omg, I’ve never actually used Downy Unstopabbles before, but I LOVE the way Downy smells 😍 Definitely gonna try that! Thanks for the advice 😘

What are you waiting for? Say something about this!